1996 NCPGG RESEARCH SEMINARS

Venue: NCPGG Lecture Theatre
Time: Tuesdays 1-2 pm
Thebarton Campus, The University of Adelaide


May 28th
A) Lineaments for oil and ore. B) Basement petroleum: traps for young players.
Mr Rodney Boucher (MESA - rboucher@msgate.mesa.sa.gov.au)

4th June
Tectonic development of the North West Shelf: a case study from the Barrow Sub-basin and the Peedamullah Shelf
Mr Simon Polomka (NCPGG - spolomka@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

11th June
The thermal history of the Gosses Bluff impact structure: implications for hydrocarbon exploration.
Dr Peter Tingate (NCPGG - ptingate@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

18th June
No talk (APPEA conference, Darwin)

25th June
How and why is the stress environment of an oilfield determined: imaging, fracturing and deviating wells.
Dr Richard Hillis (Univ. of Adelaide - rhillis@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

2nd July
Petroleum geochemistry modelling of thermal maturity and petroleum generation in the Taroom Trough, Bowen Basin.
Mr Khalid Al-Arouri (Uni. of Adelaide - karouri@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

9th July
Initial interpretation of stratal geometries in the Roebuck Basin.
Mr Stuart Smith (NCPGG- ssmith@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

16th July
Application of SEDSIM depositional modelling to submarine fan deposition, Kendrew Terrace, Dampier Sub-basin.
Dr Keyu Liu (NCPGG - liuk@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

23rd July
Poisson ratio difference and AVO indicators: a modelling study.
Mr Baolin Yang (NCPGG - yangb@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

30th July
Multicomponent seismology. (NCPGG)
Prof. Jim Applegate (NCPGG - japplegate@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

6th August
Tight Gas Resources, Cooper Basin (TIGRES).
Prof. Cedric Griffiths (NCPGG)

13th August
Seismic anisotropy for beginners.
Mr Andy Mitchell (NCPGG - andy@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

20th August
Siderite as a sea level indicator.
Mr Ghazi Kraishan (NCPGG - kraishan@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

27th August
Isotope biogeochemistry as a means to constrain Neoproterozoic stratigraphy.
Mr Jamie Burgess (Uni. of Adelaide - jburgess@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

3rd September
A review of the Cambrian time scale.
Dr Jim Jago (Uni. of South Australia - dawn.leonard@unisa.edu.au)

10th September
Sedimentology of the Merrimelia Formation.
Mr Alistair Chaney (Uni. of Aberdeen - achaney@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

17th September
A new perspective on the Hutton/Birkhead reservoir/seal couplet, Eromanga Basin.
Mr Elio Lanzilli/ Mr Peter Boult (Uni. of SA - peter.boult@unisa.edu.au)

24th September
The contemporary stress field of the Australian North West Shelf.
Mr Scott Mildren (Uni. of Adelaide - smildren@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

1st October
Sonic exploration of porous and stratified structures.
Dr Alexander Davydov (NCPGG - adavydov@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

8th October
Strategies to balance risk and reward in the petroleum industry.
Mr B. Goldstein (Manager - Exploration Review, Santos Ltd - barry.goldstein@santos.com.au)

15th October
New developments in wireline logging.
Schlumberger Oilfield Australia Pty Ltd

22nd October
Creeping salt slugs control structure in the Petrel Sub-basin.
Dr Nick Lemon (NCPGG - nlemon@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

29th October
How to borrow a billion dollars.
Mr Ted Moorcroft (NCPGG - emoorcro@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

5th November
No Talk (MELBOURNE CUP)

12th November
Application of quantitative back-scattered electron image analysis for interpretation of cement stable isotope data.
Mr Mohammed Rezaee (NCPGG - mrezaee@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

19th November
Sequence stratigraphy and foraminiferal biostratigraphy of the mid-Miocene of Southern Australia.
Ms Louise Christian (NCPGG - lchristi@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

26th November
The enigmatic Australian coastal asphaltites: where do they come from?
Dr David McKirdy (Uni. Of Adelaide - dmckirdy@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

3rd December
An overview of Boral Energy's 1996 exploration program in the Otway Basin, south eastern Australia.
Mr Tim Scholefield & Rod Lovibond (Boral Energy Resources Ltd)


Remote website visitors are encouraged to communicate directly with speakers via e-mail.

It is recommended that people intending to attend talks confirm the schedule close to the time of the actual presentation by contacting webman@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au as the timetable may change without notice.