1997 NCPGG RESEARCH SEMINARS

Venue: NCPGG Lecture Theatre
Time: Tuesdays 1-2 pm
Venue: NCPGG Lecture Theatre ("The Dungeon")
Thebarton Campus, The University of Adelaide

Vistitors Welcome!

NB - This timetable is correct as of 10/10/97 but rescheduling may occur. Visitors are advised to confirm this timetable closer to the date of the presentation.

Contacts: Xiaowen Sun (tel 08 8303 4290 or email xiaowen@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au) or Maureen Sutton (tel 08 8303 4299 or email msutton@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

Remote website visitors are encouraged to communicate directly with speakers via e-mail.

April 1
Presentation of APPEA papers.
Mr Ghazi Kraishan (NCPGG PhD student - kraishan@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)
Mr Chris Cubitt (NCPGG PhD student - ccubitt@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

April 8
Native title in Australia.
Mr Ewan Vickery (Minter, Baker, Ellison, O'Loughlin - ewan.vickery@minters.com.au)

April 15
No talk. (APPEA conference, Melbourne)

April 22
Engineering aspects of petroleum geology, including reservoir engineering.
Mr Terry Aust (Mines & Energy, SA)

April 29
Risk analysis in petroleum exploration.
Dr Rhodri Johns (Santos Ltd)

May 6
New logging tool technology.
Mr Lachlan Finlayson (Santos Ltd)

May 13
No talk. (Student field trip)

May 20
Constraints on the in-situ stress tensor in the Timor Sea: implications for exploration and production.
Dr David Castillo (Dept. of Geology & Geophysics, University of Adelaide - dcastill@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

May 27
No talk. (Examinations)

June 3
Exploration overview from Boral Energy Resources Ltd.
Dr Robbert Willink (Boral Energy Resources Ltd)

June 10
Exploration overview from Santos Ltd.
Mr Neil Tupper (Santos Ltd)

June 17
Topic to be announced.
Mr Michael Frost (Santos Ltd)

June 24
Petrophysical evaluation of shaly sand reservoirs.
Mr Mohammed Rezaee (NCPGG PhD student - mrezaee@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

September 16
A new play in the Eromanga Basin.
Dr Peter Boult (Department of Applied Geology, The University of South Australia - glpjb@lux.levels.unisa.edu.au)

September 23
Numerical modelling of diagenesis.
Dr Jay Matthews (NCPGG - jmatthews@ncpgg.adelaide.edu.au)

September 30
Petroleum Exploration activities in South Australia.
Mr Bob Frears (Mines and Energy, South Australia)

October 7
Topic to be notified.

October 14
Overview of NCPGG research activities.
brief talk by Prof Cedric Griffiths and poster display by staff and students

October 21
Using balanced geological sections to study the evolution of fold thrust belts - advantages and drawbacks.
Dr Thomas Flottmann (Department of Geology & Geophysics, The University of Adelaide - tflottma@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

October 28
Glacial depositional systems.
Dr Victor Gostin (Department of Geology & Geophysics, The University of Adelaide - vgostin@geology.adelaide.edu.au)

November 4
No talk. (Melbourne Cup)

November 11
Reducing exploration and development risk through integration of old methods and new techniques: Examples from the Timor Sea.
Mr Neil Tupper (Santos Ltd.)

November 18
Resolving a velocity model for imaging beneath Tertiary volcanics in the Bass Basin
Mr Mark Taylor (Boral Energy Resources Ltd - met@sagres.com.au)

November 25
Topic to be announced.
Dr David McKirdy (Department of Geology & Geophysics, The University of Adelaide - dmckirdy@geology.adelaide.edu.au)